Personal 30 Day Weight Loss Challenge

Standard

Today is day 30 of my personal weight loss journey. I wasn’t planning to share a blog post on this until I reached half-way to my final goal, but I decided the relative humiliation of posting these photos is worth the inspiration that they may provide to others. This inspiration came from a friend of mine Anna B. who recently shared her weight-loss journey with her entire list of Facebook friends (complete with her starting weight). Thank you Anna for putting yourself ‘out-there’ and inspiring me to do the same. I hope that if there is anyone out there that needs inspiration they will find some here!

I started out 30 days ago, feeling like my ‘baby-weight’ had been hanging around for long enough. My baby was 5 months old and I was still wearing some of my maternity jeans (*blush*). I know I’m not the only one who struggles with losing weight gained during (and yes, even after) pregnancy. I am thankful to my friends who understand and provide support even while they tackle their own weight battles.

My weight-loss goals are not just about fitting into my skinny jeans. More importantly they are about my health. Unfortunately I am predisposed to developing Type II Diabetes (having endured Gestational Diabetes X3).  I have a healthy fear of Diabetes that can only be instilled by growing up with a sibling with T1D.

So, 30 days ago, in my own quest to lower my risk of T2D, and fit into those dusty jeans again, I took the first post-pregnancy steps toward weight-loss. 🙂 As a busy mom, I chose Nutrisystem as my partner in this challenge. You can see why I am happy with this choice in my photo below!

Image

If you have any questions or need support in your own weight-loss challenge, feel free to contact me!  Together We Are Stronger!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

8 responses »

  1. Nice I wish I can post before and after pics in 30 days I actually started several challenges today 7 to be exact I hope I get the result I so desperately need to keep going and get back to a healthy weight but I’ve got a long ways to get there I’m 5’2 and weigh 221 I’ve lost 8 lbs in the last 2 weeks so I’m hoping this keeps going wish to get down to at least the 190’s by the 30th day so here goes nothing wish me luck day 1 today and I’m already feeling sore yes yes I know that’s a good sign but damn how did I let myself get here when I met my husband I was hot hot hot at a weight of 135 flat stomach big bum and boobs now i don’t like myself so I hope I can get my body back and feel pretty again ;/ fingers crossed

    • best of luck Iris! I will be rooting for you! You CAN do it! I just got a box of Nutrisystem and i’m going to start back up officially tomorrow! I’ve been doing my own modified version but it’s a lot harder without the NS food.

  2. I have a 5 month old right now and look EXACTLY like the top photo. The change to day 30 is amazing!! I’m inspired to get moving knowing I might see that much change in 30 days! 🙂 Thank you for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

