Crockpot Yams From Heaven

Standard

Crock Pot Apple-Spiced Yams
4-5 Yams – cubed (cut off tips and peel any unsightly spots otherwise don’t peel)
2 Apples – peeled, cored & diced
1 Cup Raisins
1.5 t Cinnamon
Filling:
1 Cup white sugar
¼ Cup corn starch
2 t cinnamon
¼ t salt
Dash of nutmeg
2 cups water
Place first 4 ingredients into 6 qt. slow cooker. Mix the dry filling ingredients in a small bowl. Heat water in sauce pan and whisk in the dry ingredients. Bring to a boil and hold boil for 2 minutes (while stirring). Remove from heat and pour into slow cooker. Stir gently, cover and cook on low for 6-7 hours or on high for 2-3 hours. Stir on the hour. This was delicious and as a side dish it serves 8-10 Enjoy!!

20121116-090429.jpg

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

Leave a Reply

