REALLY Easy Apple Sauce

Standard

I had some apples left over from the bag my sister in law brought the other week.  They needed to be used soon, so I thought I would try making Apple Sauce! I found a couple of recipes and here is my version:

Ingredients:

8-10 small/medium apples

3T brown sugar

1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 cup water

(secret ingredient: a few dashes of Mace (this is our favorite spice, if you haven’t tried it, it goes well with anything cinnamon)

Directions: Peel, core & dice apples. Place them inside small crockpot (or larger if you double recipe).

Sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon over the apples, and then pour the water on top.

Turn crock to Low for 4-5 hours. Mix occasionally (about 1Xhour). You will know it is done when it is light brown and there are no large lumps (you can use a potato masher if you don’t like any lumps). Spoon into canning jars and refrigerate. You can also freeze in freezer bags if you make a large batch. Mine only made one large and one medium canning jars (small batch in small crock pot).

This is SO easy! It will make your house smell AMAZING!  Happy Autumn!

Image

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

Leave a Reply

