Easy Crock Pot Apple Butter

Standard

My sweet Sister-in-law brought over a whole bunch (cooler full) of apples that she just recently picked. I’m planning to make a really big apple crisp next week to bring to my daughter’s elementary school teachers (during conference week the PTA serves them dinner for two days).  I’m excited about the 11X16X3″ CorningWare that I just ordered from Amazon (I need to make a crisp that will serve 30 so a big baking dish is essential!). I’ll use this again if I have any apples left for a harvest party I am planning coming up in two weeks!

I wanted to try out some of these apples in the meantime and since I’ve never made Apple Butter, I thought I should try!

Here’s the recipe that I’m using:

Directions:

  1. Place apples in a large bowl.
  2. Combine sugar, cinnamon, cloves and salt.
  3. Pour over apples and mix well.
  4. Place in crock pot, cover and cook on high for 1 hour.
  5. Decrease heat to low; cover and cook on low for 9-11 hours or until thickened and dark brown.
  6. Stir occasionally.
  7. Uncover and cook on low for 1 hour longer.
  8. If desired, whisk until smooth.
  9. Spoon into freezer containers, leaving 1/2-inch head space.
  10. Cover and freeze.

this batch made 2 medium and 1 small jar

*You’ll know the Apple But­ter is done when you pick it up on a spoon it stays nice & mounded.

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

One response »

Leave a Reply

