What’s For Breakfast? Overnight French Toast!

Standard

If you haven’t tried it, you owe it to yourself to make this Delicious breakfast! It’s another fun recipe to make with kids and an easy way to have a fabulous breakfast ready for all in the morning (at the same time)!

Here’s the basics:

Prepare a 9X13 pan with butter on all sides.

Cut a loaf of French bread into 3/4″ thick slices and arrange in the pan.

Liv loves to help crack eggs šŸ˜€

Mix eggs, cream, sugar, extracts & nutmeg with a whisk and pour evenly over the bread (if you’d like you can first dip each piece first to assure an even coat <kids particularly enjoy this step>).

last egg before mixing - and the bread is ready and waiting šŸ˜€

Sprinkle with cinnamon & brown sugar, cover pan & place in refrigerator overnight!

Ingredients:

  • 5 Eggs
  • 1-3/4 cups light cream (or 2%+ milk)
  • 3 tablespoons sugar (you can use sugar in the raw)
  • 1 teaspoon rum flavored extract (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Loaf of French bread (sliced 3/4 inch thick)
  • brown sugar/cinnamon to sprinkle

In the morning, heat oven to 400*F. Uncover and bake for 20-25 minutes until eggs are set and golden brown.Ā  Serve with butter & maple syrup. Also fabulous with berries and whip cream!Ā  There are more ways to spice this recipe up (some like with chopped pecans or sliced bananas sprinkled on top before baking). I just took mine out of the oven and it smells like heaven! Time to ENJOY!

Yummy Morning Goodness

bacon on the side šŸ˜€

Hint: put the bacon in the oven 15 minutes before the french toast and they will both be done about the same time! Have a great weekend!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

Leave a Reply

