It would not be summer without a Zucchini (…and Rhubarb!) Recipe…….

Standard

We returned yesterday from a wonderful week+ vacation to Vancouver Island, BC Canada. Oh, how I love it there! There’s something about an island… I don’t think I had a good grasp on the day of the week or the time the entire vacation. Which was a good thing! There are so many wonderful bakeries on the island. One of them we visited had some yummy brown (Canadian for Wheat) rhubarb/raspberry muffins.  Now that we’re home and our fabulous neighbor watered my veggies while we were away (without being asked mind you!) we have a LOT of large zucch’s! And, some rhubarb. So here’s what’s cookin’ – inspired by Jupiter Juice Bar and Bakeshop in Tofino, BC:

Approximate Ingredients (because you know i didn’t really measure):

1 Cup Rhubarb (diced)

1 Cup Zucchini (grated)

2 t. Vanilla

1 Cup Chopped Nuts (I used about 1/2 C Raisins instead since that’s what was in my pantry)

1 t. each of: Salt, Soda

1/2 t. Baking Powder

3 Cups Flour (I used whole wheat to lower the guilt factor) 😛

3 Eggs (i just used 1 since we cooked the other 3 the hens gave us for breakfast – so i expect mine will be a bit more dense)

1 Cup Oil (I used 1/2 cup oil, 1/2 cup apple sauce to cut the fat down)

2 Cups Sugar

Optional Sugar-In-The-Raw for sprinkling on top

Directions:

Mix dry ingredients (except sugar, which is technically not a dry ingredient) in a mixing bowl.

Mix wet ingredients in mixer (adding fruit/veg last)

Add dry ingredients to mixer

Spread batter into two spray-prepared loaf pans (or 8X8 glass pans) sprinkle with Sugar-ITR. Bake at 325 F for 1 hour or until middle is set and toothpick comes out clean!

My Zucchini Rhubarb Bread!

It turned out very delicious & went great with a cup of decaf on a cloudy summer evening. 😀

Me @ the Jupiter on Vancouver Island (the inspiration for this recipe) 😀

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

Leave a Reply

