signs of summer – and other updates

Standard

Summer has been in full swing (except the weather which has been struggling to stay above 70 here in the Pacific Northwest)!

One nice thing about the rain that we’ve had is that I have hardly needed to water the vegetable garden. The rain has been plenty to keep them growing:

my summer garden collage 2011 - sorry about the spelling- apparently my scrabble games aren't helping as much as I thought ;P

So far things are doing fairly well, although the zucchini and yellow squash have not been getting very big. They are however EXTREMELY delicious.

We have been harvesting lots of heirloom snow peas (grown from seed and they are taller than me) and some zucchini and yellow squash so far. Oh and plenty of eggs from our 5 lovely ladies. 😛

If you are looking for a tasty way to saute your veggies, here is what I’ve made the past couple of nights to serve with dinner:

Heat a T extra virgin olive oil and a T of butter in a saute/frying pan over medium/high heat.

Once melted stir and lower heat to M/Low – add veggies (cut up 1 yellow squash & 1 zucchini plus a few handfuls of snow peas)

Add a dash of garlic/salt (I used something called California seasoning)

Add a sprinkle of bacon bits

Put heat to Low, Stir and cover for 3-5 mins.

Turn off heat, stir and enjoy (return cover if you want to retain heat until ready to serve)

ENJOY!

In my haste, i forgot this update: I completed the 14 day Green Smoothie Challenge! I felt great and it helped me drop a few more pounds by replacing 1 meal/day with a green smoothie. If you haven’t tried it, I encourage you to check it out! It is 100% free with nothing besides a daily email to give you recipe ideas and encouragement. 😀 I have decided to continue making green smoothies and try to do one every other day! It’s a great way to get those often forgotten fruits and leafy green veggies.

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

Leave a Reply

