Past the halfway mark – of my Green Smoothie Challenge!

Standard

Today is day 9 of my green smoothie challenge.  What I’ve been doing is replacing 1 meal each day with a green smoothie (half fruit/half leafy greens). So far I’ve lost 3 pounds. I would put an ! except that these are 3 lbs. that I had gained back during a weekend of Jack’s Fries and Cinnamon Twisps.  How sweet it was, but it got me a little behind on things. Needless to say, the green smoothie challenge is WORKING! Not to mention all the fruits and veggies that I’ve been getting! 😀 And, I should really get some kind of reward for bringing my blender CAMPING last weekend and plugging it in at the gazebo so as to stay on the 14 day challenge. 😛

Tonight's Smoothie

Smoothie Recipe:

2 large handfuls of fresh organic spinach

2 large handfuls of fresh organic kale

1/2 organic pear

4 large organic strawberries

1/2 organic banana

1 cup of water

Blend on puree until green – and enjoy!

I’ve decided that a daily green smoothie is a good way for me to add healthy fruits & veggies to my diet – and I am planning to continue with a green smoothie meal replacement as part of my continued weight loss/weight maintenance goals.

Have you tried one yet?

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

4 responses »

  1. Wow….this looks like a great idea. I usually drink a smoothie for breakfast but use protein powder and never anything green! I think I’ll go pick some kale this morning and toss some in. 🙂

    Thanks for the inspiration Raquel!

  2. Hello Raquel,
    Since your last blog post which included the green smoothie recipe; I have been blending up a batch for myself and my family everyday. I love it. My hubby and our sons love the smoothies but our youngest daughter can’t get pass the green color. She always wants me to make it with out the green stuff as she call it. I feel good to know that everyone in the household is getting some fruit and vegetables into their daily diet. Which meal do you replace with the smoothie lunch or dinner? Wonderful job on your weight loss…….WooWho! Thanks so sharing and have a awesome day Raquel.
    Smiles, Paula

    • YAY! So happy that you and your family are loving the green smoothies! My 5 year old daughter is also not quite keen on the green color (but my 14 month old loves it) 😀

Leave a Reply

