Happy National Chocolate Day… a healthier brownie recipe!

Standard

Rainy days bring out the baker in me, and on top of that it’s National Chocolate Day. How could I resist. But I’m dieting and rather than be completely stoic and resist even a little bite, I decided to make a healthier version. Here’s what I made:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup sugar in the raw
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup pecan halves

Directions

  1. Melt the butter
  2. Add butter and all wet ingredients (including sugar) to mixer (mix on low until uniform)
  3. Stir all dry ingredients in a mixing bowl
  4. Add dry ingredients to mixer (mix on low until uniform)
  5. Spread into 9X13 baking dish (prepared with cooking spray)
  6. Sprinkle pecans over top of brownies
  7. Bake at 350 degrees F for 20 to 30 minutes in a 9 x 13 inch greased pan.


Enjoy a healthier (HALF THE FAT) delicious brownie! Happy Chocolate Day!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

One response »

Leave a Reply

