I’m up for a new challenge…. the 14 day Green Smoothie Challenge!

Standard

As most of you can probably attest, a large percentage of us do not consume our daily dose of fresh fruits & vegetables.  If you haven’t heard of a Green Smoothie and you’re interested in increasing your daily health, check it out! A Green Smoothie is approximately 50/50 fresh organic fruit (frozen can be used but fresh is preferable) and leafy greens (kale, spinach, chard, etc.).  Basically, blend these ingredients and add water and chill for 1 hour (or use ice or frozen berries for a quick cool smoothie). The Green Smoothie Challenge is a healthy way to increase your intake of natural vitamins & minerals & if used as a meal replacement, can help you drop pounds.  Today, I replaced my dinner with my first Green Smoothie! I feel pretty full still an hour later!

Here’s what I made tonight:

1 C strawberries

2 small bananas

5 Kale Leaves

Water (to desired consistency)

It was pretty good! It made 1 tall glass plus a smaller glass (that I gave to Sarge).  I thought the Kale would be overpowering but it wasn’t a bit! I do need to get a better blender though. I think mine is on it’s way out.

I am excited to be starting on a new challenge, after stepping away from the diet for 4 days – and oh how sweet it was (thank you Cinnamon Twisp Bakery). ;P Little secret, I actually felt hungrier and had more cravings when I was ‘off diet’ last weekend while we were away at the family cabin. I’m not sure if it was the altitude (little inside joke, we blame all our ails on that when we’re there)  – or more likely, that I was just eating random foods and probably not getting as much protein and going longer between meals. Well, I’m back on the wagon today and have kicked things off with day 1 of my 14 day Green Smoothie Challenge! Join me?

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

4 responses »

    • Hi Samantha! I don’t know- i’m torn because my percentages lost both months are significantly lower than the top challengers – so i feel like I’m not in the running to actually win a fluff challenge (even trying my hardest) LOL. But I wanted something to keep me motivated so the green smoothie challenge should help! 😀

Leave a Reply

