Fun Recipe for the First Day of Summer!

Standard

Today we celebrate the official start of SUMMER! WOOHOO! I can’t tell you how great it was to feel temperatures in the 70’s today!

I decided to kick off summer by grilling up some yummy Chicken Packets OUTSIDE. YAY! Maybe our toes will start to lose their webbing and we’ll dry out after all!

Here’s the recipe:

Gathered Ingredients

Ingredients:

Organic Chicken (i used 4 thighs)

Organic Veggies (i used mushrooms and a medley of carrots, broccoli & cauliflower

Seasoning Salt & Teriyaki Sauce

Also need: Tinfoil/cooking spray

Also Fun for 5 year olds! (helping me wash mushrooms)

Wash Veggies

Cut piece of tinfoil (about 12X12) and spray with light dusting of cooking spray

Place veggies on foil and sprinkle with seasoning salt

Veggies!

Place meat on top of veggies

Add a little more seasoning of your choice to chicken and then pour on some teriyaki sauce or marinade of your choice

Place another piece of foil on top and fold up edges to make a 'packet'

Cook on a pre-heated grill for about 20 – 30 minutes (depending on grill) or until the internal meat temperature is about 175*F.  If you have a meat thermometer you can stick it right through the foil when you want to check it. Be careful when you open the packets- there will be steam!

Try these with rice or salad on the side!  Enjoy!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

3 responses »

  1. Mmmmm!!! Thanks for sharing, Kel! I’m trying this tonite! Nothin’ quite like fresh grilled veggies & chicken on a summer night!! My new addiction is grilled zucchini… lOvE it! Hope to see you soon! Wish I could’ve chatted with you more on Sunday- but, as you could see, my 2 year old was being quite high maintenance, to put it kindly 😉 . XOGF

    • 😀 love this recipe & would be so good with zuchinni! I LOVE zuchinni- I have high hopes for growing some this summer- so far my plant looks really promising. YAY! I feel ya on the high-maintenance – Cooper came down with a cold on Monday or Tues and had a fever for 3 days – cold/cough/tummy troubles- then rash- probably one of the fun-five viruses. Yay. 😛 p.s. we are planning to camp at darrington whitewater days! maybe we will see you there! XOGF

Leave a Reply

