Christmas in June

Standard

June is a month for giving around our house. I wrapped nine presents today with help from my 5 year old. She loves helping! My one year old also loves to play with the tissue paper which keeps him occupied while we wrap. Here’s a pic of the presents we wrapped today.

20110616-105706.jpg
These are for father’s day x 3, graduation, wedding & shower, teacher x 2, and a birthday (plus another birthday gift already delivered). And, lest you think this is excessive, This year I forewent (pretty sure that’s not a word) lol anniversary presents … Or I think that my piano top would not be big enough to hold ’em all! 😉
Luckily I can honestly say I enjoy giving as much as receiving. Here are some tips for keeping it fun and manageable:
1. Buy presents when you find them. Don’t wait ’til the week or day before. If you see something that makes you think of someone on your yearly gift list, get it!
2. Start a gift cupboard/closet! When you find those special gifts for a birthday 3 months away, store it in your gift closet. Then the day before the event, go shopping in your gift closet without ever leaving home!
3. Keep a stash of gift bags for all occasions along with blank cards and tissue paper – and your gift giving’s a wrap! 😛
Here’s to cheerful giving & receiving!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

2 responses »

  1. Hello Raquel,
    I love your idea about the gift closet and I have had one packed full of ready to go gifts. I would store all of the necessary item such as gift bags, cards and etc. right in the closet, which was so handy. I run a natural soap business with a friend and my hubby out of our home; so I am completely out of space. I hope to regain the use of the closets in my home at some point.
    Happy gift giving!
    Smiles, Paula

Leave a Reply

