Drowning my sorrows with a piece of cake for breakfast

Standard

Don’t worry, I haven’t thrown in the towel… it’s a piece of 0 trans fat, 6 grams of protein, portioned-for-weight-loss-cake. But, you guessed it, I didn’t win the May weight loss challenge. 😦 I was pretty close -I lost just 2 lbs less than the third prize winner! Darn!
The important ‘thing’ is that I lost 10 lbs. and I am now a healthy weight! I feel much better than I did just 30 days ago. I didn’t win a physical prize – unless you count that I can now fit into a bunch of my jeans and shirts that before either didn’t zip or were way to tight and uncomfortable. They totally fit now! YAY!
My goal for June is to lose another 8 lbs. I know from my pre-pregnancy weight loss that the second 10 lbs. can take almost twice as long as the first. I think it is that the closer you get to your lower target weight the harder your body holds onto it. That is fairly unscientific, and I don’t have data to back it up besides my own experience. But that’s how it works for me, so I’ve set the goal 2 lbs. less for June so that my goal remains possible (yet still challenging).
I am however, not sure yet if I should actually enter the June Sparkle Mama challenge (I’d have to contribute a new cloth diaper to the prize package). I guess you can say I am having some questions about whether some of the competitors are ‘out of my league’ in terms of the weight percentages they were able to pull-off. I know what I can healthfully accomplish – and I can’t compete with close to 10% of body-weight loss in 1 month. That just more than I can lose while working on healthy, safe, & maintainable weight-loss. I know I’m at risk of sounding like a sore loser here. And, I don’t want to come across that way, so let me say that I am VERY happy that I did the May challenge and it helped me stay focused and created some extra fun to the process. What do you think? Should I enter the June Challenge or should I just stay on my diet and focus on my own little goal of 8 lbs by July 2?

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

One response »

  1. Congratulations! Awesome Job! I struggle with eating healthy and staying fit. I need some of your inspiration thru my computer screen. I think that you should do what makes you happy. Thanks for sharing. Smiles, Paula

Leave a Reply

