this is a blog post with no photos . . . you don’t want to see this.

Standard

This is a mom post. I’m allowed one of those on occasion, right?! Yes. Thanks. So the past month, I have taken the ‘baby poo discussions’ to new heights.  Babes (11 months old) had to take three (3), yes. t.h.r.e.e. full weeks + of antibiotics for a sinus infection that refused to go away. It finally went away but he basically had 5 – 10 (TEN) extremely messy diapers per day during the whole treatment period AND he’s been off them now for about a week and still. This is bad enough when you’re using disposables (sposies in mom talk) but when you cloth diaper (cd) it really, really takes the fun right out of it. Yes, I said fun while discussing diapers. My husband things I’m just a little crazy, but yes, I do find cloth diapers fun. They are so CUTE!

So back to the poo talk: the poor babe’s poo suddenly turned to what I can only describe as really, really bad smelling colored water. POOR GUY! His cute bum is miserable. I talked to my nurse mother, my nurse BFF and my sister (with 17+ years in the business) (hehe) and called the doctors. So. Off to the lab to collect a ‘sample kit’ and they will be able to diagnose whether all the good germs were kicked to the curb to make way for some bad guys to take over his poor belly. I REALLY, REALLY hope that he doesn’t need antibiotics again. I MISS MY gDIAPERS! Wait, they’re not mine, they’re his. But you know what I mean, right? Ok, you probably don’t – unless you’re also obsessed with g’s. You know who you are. 😛 Needless to say, I’m getting really good at this baby poo thing. It’s not even gross anymore, and I talk about it like I talk about flower varieties (or something). I’m not sure if I should be proud of this or not, but now I can say, I’ve officially completed a stool sample kit for one of my kids. Is there a blue ribbon for this? There should be!

Please share some stories from the momma trenches… I would love some company!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

3 responses »

  1. Hey, with those water poops, just toss those diapers straight into a warm rinse (with ~3 drops of TTO) & at the end of the day do a hot wash on everything with about 10 drops of TTO. I think those poopy dipes are easier to wash than solid poop ones! We never had “g” diapers, but our cloth worked fine during that. I’m sorry your little sweetie is still “yucky”. Prayers! ❤

    • thanks kj! maybe I’ll try the one diap that I have (that you made?) That might work! For now, I have the great joy of having to line his diaper with plastic wrap in order to collect samples – plural. They want like FOUR. holy poop. An unfortunate adventure in motherhood. LOL

Leave a Reply

