Quintessential Quiche… Quick

Standard

😛

There were 8 eggs in the nest today – and another dozen in the refrigerator already…. which naturally leads to only one dish for dinner – QUICHE.

Before I came up with this recipe (a few random tweaks & trials later), I wasn’t a huge fan.  Now, (and maybe it has something to do with my wonderful hens and their delicious fresh eggs) I love it – and so does my family!

Here’s the (really easy and delicious) recipe:

Ingredients

2 C – Milk

4 – Eggs (farm fresh, organic, or free-range of course)

3/4 C – Bisquick

1/4 C – Butter (softened) *optional (normally mixed right in – but I leave it out sometimes for a healthier quiche and it tastes just as good- with just a little less decadence)

1 C – grated Parmesan cheese (I’ve used the powdered kind before in a pinch and it was fine – but i suggest real)

1 C – diced meat (I’ve used ham, turkey, smoked salmon (mmmm!) and today’s recipe is diced crab cakes)

1/2 C shredded Cheddar cheese (I like to put this on the top but it can be mixed in also)

1 C – Veggie of choice (you can use broccoli, etc. today’s recipe is diced green onions)

Beautiful Free-Range eggs!

In this order mix:

Eggs, Milk, Bisquick, & Parmesan cheese – taking care to break up any little clumps of Bisquick (like you would with pancakes).

more than half-way done already!

Next, mix in the veggies and the meat – then dump it into your prepared (buttered) 8X8″ baking dish.

Voila!

Sprinkle with the Cheddar cheese and pop it into the oven (preheated to 375*F) for 50-60 minutes!

If you want – prepare this ahead and slip it in the refrigerator (where mine is currently hanging out) and take out and bake about an hour and 10 minutes (to allow for pre-heating time) before you want to serve! Quiche is done when it is set and the top is golden brown.  This recipe has about 9 servings – but allow for seconds… It will be popular!

This Quiche looks and smells WONDERFUL when baked! I’ll post a photo of my baked Quiche later.  You can serve this any time of day. It goes great with some steamed broccoli for dinner – and maybe a couple of strawberries! Enjoy!

Ready to Eat!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

