spring cleaning and other random blessings

Standard

Well, there’s nothing easier to blame writer’s block than sick kids. And I’ve had my share lately!  The poor things have been needing extra TLC these past weeks and I’ve been worn down to a mere fizzle.  Negotiating the in’s & outs (no pun intended) of  my 5 year-old’s tummy viruses (and the resulting laundry), Kindergarten registration, and her (hitherto unknown) emotional attachment to hubz truck that we sold this week has been exhausting. But every minute, however draining, I see as precious (and rewarding) when the four of us gathered in her room this evening for bedtime stories.  I thought about the military families who aren’t able to enjoy those quiet moments together and said a prayer of thanks for the simple blessings we enjoy (and try not to take for granted) every day.

In the busy days at home, sometimes you just need a quick pick-me-up in the decor/organization department. Your home can become a little tired and fizzled right along with ya.  I read in one of my many magazines – something about how to give your kitchen a quick and cheap sprucing-up. And a couple of months ago I decided to give it a try. Here’s what I did: donated all my looking-ratty dish towels and rags and bought new ones. It was amazing what a difference such a small change can make! Next on my list (as soon as I find a good sale 😛 is all new hot pads/oven mitts).

Today, needing an aforementioned pick-me-up in my kitchen, I decided to reorganize my counter-top appliances and utilize some cute canisters that I recently picked up on-sale. Here’s a quick picture (sorry I don’t have a before picture – you’ll have to trust me that i’ve gained counter space – but you do get to see my cute new canisters):

my new baking station

 

As I look at this picture- I have to share that there are two treasured gifts in my kitchen. The decorative pitcher was a gift from my angel-sister Natalie, and the chicken notebook (my personal recipe book) was a gift from my little-brother James.

So, if you need a pick-me-up, do a little spring cleaning and buy your kitchen a little something new! Give the economy a boost and while your at it, pass on what you don’t need anymore to someone who does!

“Love bakes good cakes and brews good stews”  Happy Cooking!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

2 responses »

  1. Cute! I did a bit of organizing this week! I am trying to do one shelf a day in my “pantry cupboard” which is more of a kids art supplies cupboard with catfood and some other stuff thrown into the mix. 😉

Leave a Reply

