Dipping my toes into photography

Standard

This is going to have to be a quick blog post tonight. My youngest babes just started round two of antibiotics for this lingering pesky sinus infection that’s really been dragging us all down. I’m not sure how long he’ll stay sleeping… so here goes!

One of my favorite hobbies – of which I profess no great knowledge (but would love to learn more and have been dabbling in for years) is photography. My most common subjects are of course, people (my family mostly), animals (pets and the occasional wild) and nature. The other night we had a ‘Supermoon’ which was apparently the closest to the earth at the full moon stage that it has been/will be for 18 years. What better reason than to break out my quasi-manual camera and attempt a moon-shot!?

After a few tries, here are some results:

Full Moon – March 20th, 2011 from my back deck

As you can see it isn’t a flawless photo, but I was pretty happy to have gotten a successful photo of the moon! If you’ve ever tried to point/shoot a full moon- it is very hard to get a decent photo.  Getting this shot inspired me to try to learn more about how to get good photographs of difficult to capture subjects such as the moon.  If nothing else, there is always trial and error. 😀

Another fun aspect of photography that I enjoy is photo editing.  I favor Picasa and Piknik as editing tools.  For fun, here is a photo before editing and after editing (that’s my sweet little cry-baby).

unedited

My Sweet Olivia – color filter edited to bring out the pretty purples

Well, I better end this before the babes wakes up! Hope you enjoyed my blog and let me know if you have any tips for me on my moon-photography! (tripod-less) 😛

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

Leave a Reply

