Digging in the dirt and petting chickens

Standard

Hobbies are good for keeping you young, and there’s nothing like making you feel like a kid again than digging in the dirt (okay and petting chickens). Afternoon nap time could be spent picking up around the house or doing laundry, but those are chores that can be done any day.  And today in the Pacific Northwest it happens to be ‘partly sunny’ – which normally means you can see without a flashlight and you don’t need a raincoat. 😛 Lately these sun-breaks have been few and far between and that’s about the only excuse I need – not to waste babes’ nap time on housework!

So, I slipped out the back with some promising heirloom seeds from Baker Creek Seeds and my egg basket. (Okay, it’s actually a mixing bowl – a real egg basket is on my wish list)  After feeding my 5 hens and collecting their eggs, I went over to my garden to plant the first seeds of the year: Scarlet Runner Beans. I just started out with 6 and will plant more as the season progresses.  Just so you know, I was actually digging in the dirt like a kid – my hand-shovel was a metal fork that i found laying in the dirt (most likely left behind by my dirt-diggin’ 5 year old) 😀  Here’s a picture of the seeds – they’re really pretty seeds and I can’t wait to see the beautiful flowered vines! 

Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds – Bean Scarlet Runner

 

And what’s a trip outdoors to fetch eggs without stopping to pet the chickens?! I absolutely adore my hens. Honestly, I hadn’t planned on keeping chickens, but once we adopted our hens, I fell in love.  Our yard (and egg basket) would feel so empty without them!

Two days’ eggs and my personal cookbook (a treasured gift from my brother James)

It’s not too early to start a few seeds outdoors! Get out there and get your hands dirty!

 

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

