my first hobby spotlight: clothes trading!

Standard

Today’s hobbymamma post is about recycling. Not cans & paper, but clothes! All you parents know how fast kids grow out of their clothes. And, yes for those of you with kids who joined your family close enough together to use hand-me-downs you are probably recycling clothes already. But in our family, there was 4.5 years from baby #1 to baby #2 – clothes sharing may have just barely worked for us (except that baby #1 and #2 do not share the same gender). Today I enjoyed recycling clothes at a local store called MamaGoRound. At MamaGoRound you can bring in your bags of gently used kids (and maternity) clothing (and gear) and trade either for store credit or cash. I chose store credit and it’s like going shopping for free! Nothing goes out of my bank account and I come home with clothes for my kids in their next size or random baby gear we’ve had on our wishlist. It’s a great way to recycle clothes for use by other mammas & come home with some ‘new’ things that are useful for you! If you live in Western Washington, you can check out MamaGoRound online at http://mamagoround.com/our_store.php
Have a good week and try something new!

About hobbymamma

I'm a mother of the marvelous Olivia (age 7), the adorable Cooper (almost 3) and Wyatt (6 months). As a busy SAHM (& wife to Tyson aka 'Sarge'), I find myself with irons in many fires. Some of my time is also devoted to voluntary services for various non-profit organizations. The idea for this blog came from something I find myself thinking or saying rather often lately: I have so many interests & hobbies that I don't consider myself 'expert' at any of them. It can be frusterating on occasion, but mostly I find it refreshing and rewarding to enjoy such variety. On this blog I share bits and hints about some of the hobbies I currently enjoy. When considering some of my favorite hobbies - i've discovered that a theme that threads through many of them is green. Not necessarily the color (that too) but 'green practices'. I often find myself thinking, how can I make this more environmentally friendly. What ingredients or products are better for my family and the beautiful planet where we live. I hope you will enjoy reading about some of my hobbies and be inspired to try something new!

4 responses »

  1. Great advice! I actively search out our moms consignment sales (they travel around to different locations). I rarely buy new clothes for my kids yet they always look well kept.

    • you can find some great things! I do a lot of clearance shopping too (which can sometimes be even cheaper than consignment). but i definitely prefer consignment places over Goodwill/Value Village etc. I also enjoy scoring random finds at garage sales 😀

Leave a Reply

